Remix Theory.

“Generally speaking, remix culture can be defined as a global activity consisting of the creative and efficient exchange of information made possible by digital technologies. Remix, as discourse, is supported by the practice of cut/copy and paste.” (Navas, 2010).

I want to begin by discussing the idea of ‘cut/copy and paste’ and its relation to the way in which DJ’s and Hip-hop/Rap groups work sound in the modern day. It is, of course, the original way to remix anything. By taking one section from somewhere and putting it somewhere else, you can instantly change the make-up of a piece, both in artwork as well as music. ‘Cut/copy and paste’ can be seen as the original way to combine tracks called ‘mash-ups’, from scratch. Through understanding the history of ‘cut/copy and paste’ in relation to music production I have been able to explore it within my artistic practice. It is now a founding theory in the work and ideas I create, representing the third tier to my practice. This third tier is probably the most important aspect of my work as it represents the most expressive side of my practice. The possibilities within remix are virtually limitless due to the ability to be able to remix subject matter that has already been remixed, so the process is endless. It therefore is the part of my practice that I have the most control over, enabling me to add my own identity to a work more so than in my drawings or my music, making it the most enjoyable point in the creation of a work.

 

Graeme Clark

About graemeaclark

I am a 22 year old art student, studying Intermedia at Edinburgh College of Art, in 4th year. View all posts by graemeaclark

Leave a Reply

